Types of Rudraksha Beads

The word Rudraksha is referred to as the Indian prayer beads that hold a great mythological significance for Hindus. Considering their holiness these beads are usually worn for astrological reasons and not for body adornment. As per the Hindu beliefs, Rudraksha beads help the wearer to fight against all the obstacles and difficulties in life caused by the unfavorable planetary movements. Besides that, Rudraksha beads are also said to possess many healing powers that protect the person from several diseases both curable and incurable.

Rudraksha beads are classified into various groups depending upon the number of clefts. If a Rudraksha is single faceted, it would be referred to as ‘ek mukhi rudraksha,’ if two faceted, it is referred to as ‘two faceted’ and so on. Rudraksha beads are known to display up to 38 clefts, but, generally, only up to 14 are used and recommended by the astrologers. Here is the list of all the fourteen types of Rudraksha along with their significances.

One Faceted

A symbol of Lord Shiva, this Rudraksha is ruled by the planet Sun and is thus believed to rectify all astrological issues related to this planet.

Two faceted

This rudraksha represents the planet moon and is said to solve all the problems concerning it.

Three Faceted

This Rudraksha is a symbol of three Hindu Gods namely Brahma, Vishnu and Mahesha, also known as the Trinity. It is ruled by the planet Mars and is recommended to people who face troubles due to it.

Four Faceted

This bead is a symbol of Lord Brahma and represents planet mercury. It is believed that this bead provides the wearer with four most essential gifts of life namely, Artha, Dharma, Moksha and Kama.

Five Faceted

This Rudraksha cures all the adverse effects of planet Jupiter.

Six Faceted

Governed by planet Venus, this Rudraksha helps in healing the malefic effects of this planet on the wearer’s life. It is also a symbolic representation of Kartikeya, son of Lord Shiva.

Seven Faceted

Also known as Kamdev Rudraksha, the principal planet of this bead is Saturn and rectifies problems such as Sadesaati and Kal Sarpa Yoga.

Eight Faceted

A symbol of Lord Ganesha, this bead is ruled by the planet Rahu and is thus, considered to be helpful in rectifying issues related to it.

Nine Faceted

This bead is ruled by planet Ketu and thus, solves issues related to it.

Ten Faceted

This rudraksha is not governed by a single planet but by Lord Mahavishnu who is believed to be the preserver of the Universe, according to the Hindu mythology.

Eleven Faceted

Ruled by Lord Indra and the eleveneth rudra Lord Hanuman, this charismatic rudraksha is said to rectify the problems related to the planets Jupiter, Mars and Saturn. This bead is also known as ‘Ekadash Rudraksha’.

Twelve Faceted

A symbolic representation of Sun God, this rudraksha is recommended to people that has sun related astrological problems.

Thirteen Faceted

Lord Indra and Kamadeva are represented by this rudraksha. The ruling planet being Venus blesses the wearer with love, beauty and affection.

Fourteen Faceted

The ruling planet of this rudraksha is Saturn and the ruling lord is Hanuman. This bead is believed to be effective towards problems such as Sadesati and Kaal SarpYoga.


<!– /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-parent:””; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:”Times New Roman”; mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;} @page Section1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:1.0in 1.25in 1.0in 1.25in; mso-header-margin:.5in; mso-footer-margin:.5in; mso-paper-source:0;} div.Section1 {page:Section1;} –>

For more information about <a href=”http://www.houseofgems.com/”>wholesale beads</a>, please visit our site http://www.houseofgems.com